Enter your email to receive latest news from project!

This website has been developed with the assistance of the European Union. The contents of this site are the sole responsibility of the ESRT Programme and can in no way be taken to reflect the views of the European Union.


Introduction on the Vietnam Tourism Occupational Skills Standards

The VTOS - Vietnam Tourism Occupational Skills Standards were developed by international and Vietnamese experts within the implementation of the Vietnam Human Resources Development in Tourism Project funded by the European Union (2004 – 2010), and were assessed, approved and published by the Vietnam Tourism Certification Board.

The VTOS Standards have been designed to incorporate current international standards, adapted to the specific requirements of the hospitality sector in Vietnam. The VTOS Standards include 9 hospitality skills and 4 Tour/Travel skills.


1.             Housekeeping

2.             Front Office

3.             Food & Beverage Service

4.             Food Preparation-Western

5.             Food Preparation-Vietnamese

6.             Computerised Reservation System for Hotels

7.             Pastry/Bakery

8.             Hotel Security

9.             Small Hotel Management

10.          Travel Operations

11.          Tour Operations

12.          Tour Guiding

13.          Computerised Reservation System for Travel



The VTOS standards were developed by analysing and establishing the tasks that people perform, to fulfil the requirements of a particular job. This defines precisely what people do. From this analysis, the required skills and knowledge can be established to enable them to be competent in performing their job under normal working conditions.



Each VTOS standard is divided into four main parts. Part one consists of an overall description of the job, the job title(s) normally used, together with a list of tasks, which make up the standard.


Part two consists of a sequence plan, detailing the main tasks, sub-tasks skills and sub-tasks knowledge.


Part three consists of a detailed breakdown of the skill standards.


Part four consists of terminologies sorting according to alphabetical order.



Sub-tasks skills


The sub-tasks skills standards are illustrated in a five-column format as follows:


STEP: This clearly identifies what the person has to do, broken down into a sequence of steps.


HOW: This column describes how the step should be carried out and normally describes it in such a way as to illustrate the types of skills needed. They are competency based.


STANDARD: This refers to international norms relating to the key criteria that include quality, quantity, timing, sequence, hygiene, safety etc. to ensure that the task is carried out to the appropriate standard.


WHY: This column explains why the step is carried out in a specific way and why the particular standard should be applied.


KNOWLEDGE: This refers to the knowledge requirements necessary to support the execution of the task, for example company policy or a recommended text. This knowledge complements and underpins the practice of the necessary skills.


Sub-tasks knowledge


The format for the sub-tasks knowledge is slightly different in that the expression WHAT is used in place of STEP and DESCRIPTION in place of HOW. The WHAT column describes the theory and the DESCRIPTION explains the theory.


Currently, VTCB is the organisation who manages and publishes the VTOS Standards. To learn more about the VTOS Standards, you can contact:


The Vietnam Tourism Certification Board (VTCB)

7th Floor, 80 Quan Su Street, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi

Tel: 04.3. 944 6494 - Fax: 04.3. 944 6495

E-mail: vtcb@hn.vnn.vn

Website: www.vtcb.org.vn

Created Date: 5/17/2012
Download 10 VTOS version 2013
Newsletter 8.
Tourist Information Center Guide.
Vietnam Tourism Marketing Strategy Executive Summary
Vietnam Responsible Tourism Toolkit
Like us on FaceBook.
ASEAN MRA on Tourism Professionals.